

Board member retreat Aug. 31, 2019 10:30 a.m. Location and host: Member Elaine Ayala's house Minutes taken by Secretary Krista Torralva

Present: President Nora Lopez, Vice President Silvia Foster-Frau, Secretary Krista Torralva, Treasurer Laura Garcia, At-large print Tony Quesada, At-large communications Jeannette Garcia, At-large broadcast Mary Menton, past presidents Joey Palacios, Diana Fuentes, Elaine Ayala, Marta Tijerina

Nora Lopez calls meeting to order at 10:30 a.m.

Discussion of 2019 Gala. This year's AV costs came as a surprise and hurt our scholarship fund. We are committed to the Grand Hyatt for the 2020 Gala and Nora Lopez will talk to the Hyatt to try to bring AV costs down. For 2021, the association may research alternative locations.

Review bylaws. Potential changes: Membership fees, agenda postings, assign duties to at-large positions, allow for proxy/electronic votes. Nora Lopez appoints Diana Fuentes to chair a committee to review the bylaws.

Nora Lopez appoints Jeannette Garcia to chair the publicity committee. Duties include updating the website, social media sites and the job bank. Will work with Secretary Krista Torralva who is responsible for meetings, minutes, agenda, and internal communications. Secretary should also be responsible for professional development and student activities. Vice President Silvia Foster-Frau is overtaking membership and recruitment.

Nora Lopez appoints Tony Quesada and Mary Melton co-chairs of the scholarship committee. Gala committee chair will be appointed at a later meeting.

Discussion of possible fall events presented by Krista Torralva and Elaine Ayala.

Discussion of an event at the Excellence in Journalism Conference in San Antonio. Members will be invited to an event honoring member Elaine Ayala who is to be inducted to the National Association of Hispanic Journalists Hall of Fame. One paid for spot to the conference will go to a student scholarship recipient, Samantha Salazar.

Adjourn at 1 p.m.