SAAHJ welcomes Telemundo 60 as corporate member

Telemundo 60, a Spanish-language news station in San Antonio, has become a corporate member of the San Antonio Association of Hispanic Journalists.

“SAAHJ is thrilled that Telemundo has distinguished itself not only as a generous sponsors of our annual gala, but as a corporate member,” said Nora Lopez, whose term as SAAHJ president ends Aug. 15 at its first-ever virtual gala.

As part of its membership, 10 of Telemundo’s employees received individual memberships.

They are anchors Arlena Amaro, Santiago Gallego, Zalome Briceño and Jessica Montoya; executive producer Amy Alvarez; assignment desk editor Joel Flores-Sanjur; and multimedia journalists Nancy Tinajero and Melissa Barraza.

They joined multimedia journalists Ciro Villarreal, who will be the next recipient of SAAHJ’s Henry Guerra Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Journalism; and Vladimir Flores, who served as a panelist on SAAHJ’s session on coverage of the coronavirus pandemic.

Robert Sarabia, president and general manager of Telemundo 60, and Delines Alonso, Telemundo 60’s vice president of news, were already members of SAAHJ.

“The SAAHJ and its scholarship program is vital to maintain a pipeline of Hispanic journalists, and we are proud to lend our support.” Sarabia said.

“As we celebrate KVDA’s 30-year local news history and legacy, Telemundo 60 remains committed more than ever to telling the stories of San Antonio and South Texas’ communities, across all platforms. As a local news organization, we are proud to continue delivering the outstanding journalism that our viewers have come to expect from us.”

Telemundo 60 is one of 30 stations in the United States and Puerto Rico that are a part of the Telemundo Station Group owned by NBCUniversal. Telemundo also operates television stations in Houston, Dallas-Fort Worth, El Paso and Harlingen.

Corporate membership dues are $500 a year. For more information, email

SAAHJ’s previously scheduled gala was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic. We encourage everyone to watch the virtual gala live on Saturday, Aug. 15 at 2 p.m. on our Facebook and Instagram pages.

Posted in

San Antonio Hispanic Journalists