Our biggest, grandest fundraiser yet

Our biggest, grandest fundraiser yet

We’re excited to share that we will be celebrating the 25th Anniversary of our SAAHJ Scholarship & Awards Gala, which benefits students studying journalism and communications in the San Antonio area.


Saturday, Aug. 5, 2023

6 p.m. Cocktails / 7 p.m. Dinner and Program

Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, 100 Auditorium Circle, San Antonio TX 78205



For more than 35 years, the San Antonio Association of Hispanic Journalists has worked to improve diversity in newsrooms and in the communications industry so that they better reflect the communities we serve. For the past 24 years or so, the SAAHJ gala has become one of the premiere celebrations of the year for our nonprofit organization and for San Antonio’s media and communications professionals. If you’ve been in the journalism business in San Antonio within the last quarter century, chances are that you have been to one of our galas.

All proceeds from the SAAHJ Gala go toward SAAHJ's Scholarship Fund, which provides scholarships for San Antonio-based college students who are studying to become the next generation of journalists and communications professionals.


In accordance with tradition, SAAHJ will celebrate the 2023 scholarship recipients and will award the Henry Guerra Lifetime Achievement Award to a deserving journalist, the Community Service award to a local organization or person and the Corazón de Oro, a national award honoring an individual in the arts whose work or leadership has made an undeniable impact on Latinos. Learn more about our awards here.


Interested in purchasing a table?

Check out the 2023 gala sponsorship levels below. To secure a sponsorship for your company or organization, download this gala form and email it to us at gala@saahj.com or you can complete the form online before Friday, May 5. SAAHJ is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, and contributions are tax-deductible.


Thank you for your interest in this year’s scholarship and awards gala! Feel free to contact the co-chairs directly or email gala@saahj.com with any questions. 

(Photo credit: Tobin Center for the Performing Arts)


Vanessa C. Torres, Gala Co-Chair Texas A&M University-San Antonio vanessa_torres@live.com 210-784-1621

Tricia Schwennesen, Gala Co-Chair Community Impact Newspaper triciaschwennesen@gmail.com